Fantasy Football at the highest level.

Team Preview: Team Barley

Team Preview
Team Barley

This week I had a chance to interview the newest member to the KFFL. Team owner John Barley joined the league just months ago, but has already made a splash in the league by trading away most of his draft picks to acquire Aaron Rodgers.

KFFL: You were the hottest team at the start of the season last year with a 4-0 start, but then you had to wait until week 12 for your next win.  Considering your taking over a team that finished 5-8 last year, and outscored 4 teams ahead in the standings, how do you make sure that doesn’t happen again?

Aaron Rodgers

JB: Now with new management I can assure the league that something like that won’t happen again. That was one of the main reasons why I went out and acquired Aaron Rodgers, he gives me an opportunity to compete in each week.

KFFL: What are your first impressions of the league so far?

JB: Well first and foremost I think the commissioner is first class. I think I am coming into the league at a pretty good time, it seems like it really is a time of change.  With the debut of a new website, and the first year of actual keepers, I feel like I am coming in at a perfect time.

KFFL: What do you think you can bring to the league?

JB: Well there are a couple of things that I can bring to this league, the first being my experience in fantasy football. I won league championships in other leagues, so I can continue to raise the bar in this league. Secondly, I am the only person in the KFFL league with actual NFL ownership experience. As a current stock holder with the Packers, they constantly call me for my opinion on what to do with the team.

KFFL: Speaking of the cheese heads, explain your decision to go out and acquire Aaron Rodgers?

JB: Aside from being a Packers fan, I think Aaron Rodgers is going to have a big year. Everyone saw what he did last year, and now with improvements to the roster, I feel like he can only improve on those numbers. Having him on my roster gives me a head start on most teams in the league.

KFFL: Who are you looking to keep for next year?

JB: Well because I took over a roster full of a bunch of role players, it has been difficult to decide who I want to keep. Obviously I am going to keep Aaron Rodgers, I would like to improve my running backs, but I think I am going to have to stick with DeAngelo Williams. My third would be DeSean Jackson at this point, but hopefully I can make a deal that lands me a keeper.

KKFL: What is your draft philosophy? What positions might you look to target early?

JB: I have always been someone that likes to go after the big risks guys. I think there is a lot of value in guys that others are passing over. Usually those type of players are very talented but other owners don’t want to deal with the possibility of suspensions or such. But with my lack of talent with my keepers, I have to be spot on with my picks.

KFFL: Are there any possible sleepers you might have your eye on?

JB: There are a few guys that I have my eye on, but I certainly am not going to give any of that information out in fear that Matt Larson will steal my good ideas. From what I have gathered from these interviews, it appears that Larson can’t draft very well, so I don’t want to give him any tips. Speaking of Larson, someone should tell him that its mandatory to have a QB on your roster. Who the hell trades Peyton Manning and Aaron Rodgers in the same offseason?

KFFL: Which teams are you looking out for in your first season?

JB: Well one nice thing is that I know a good handful of guys in the league. But one team I am already looking to go after is Dave’s team. I saw he already started talking some trash about me and Aaron Rodgers, so he is on the top of my list. I think I will start by hacking into his team account and trade away all of his top guys to someone for a kicker and a defense. That should shut him up.

KFFL: What type of preparation do you do leading up to the season?

JB: Typically I do some mock drafts and lots of reading about training camps. I try to stay current on all of the NFL news.

KFFL: Any idea on when we might see a new team name from you?

JB: I will unveil my team name when I turn in my keepers. Right now I am debating on if I want to center my team name on Matt McNulty and his career as a nurse. Faulker!

One response

  1. Matt

    Barley…not a male nurse. Physical Therapist Assistant…you may want to remember that when you blow your ankle out with a fancy soccer move! Haha

    August 17, 2010 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

